Web Page Mockup Project

10a-webpagemockup-brad-campbell

DESCRIPTION

Design a sample web page layout using a grid for a new company web site.

PROCESS (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles)

1. I first decided to do a mock webpage layout using my family as an example. We had pictures made last December so I knew I could use those for this web page mockup layout.

2. I began the sketching process to decide how I wanted to layout my elements on the 16-column grid. Ā I did about five sketches of the page so I would have a good understanding of how each of the elements could come together on the page.

3. Next I began designing a logo in Adobe Illustrator for my families web page. I basically used shapes and a scripted letter C for the design of the logo. I saved the file as .png and placed it into the grid template in Photoshop.

4. I began building the wire frame on the 16-column grid that was supplied. I made solid filled squares for images, a half-circle for my logo, rectangles for the header and footer. I labeled each square for an image, and each other element of the web page. The other elements were: logo, header, footer, text box, social media links, navigation links, copyright on the footer.

5. I began reformatting the family images that I chose to use in the web page mockup so the files size would be adequate for a web page.

6. I placed each image into the wire frame by going to file, Place linked, browse to image in web page layout folder, selecting enter, going to the image file layer and creating a clipping mask. Next, I scaled the image to the appropriate size and then positioned the image as needed.

7. Continuing, I entered every element that was required for the web page layout adding a few background elements to help add to the design and create movement movement in the page, added texture, displayed overlapping and created a focal point with the family image. I inserted the necessary text into the text boxes for each family members image and Ā then described the individual to the audience.

8. Lastly, I saved the file as an Adobe Photoshop .psd and .jpg as the client requested. I also made sure that I had a wireframe .jpg on a 960 grid to go along in a .zip file to the client.

10a-webpagemockup-brad-campbell
FULL SIZE WEB PAGE MOCKUP IMAGE
campbell-family-wire-frame
960 WEB DESIGN GRID Ā 16-COLUMN
10a-sketch-bradcampbell-02
SKETCH 1
10a-sketch-bradcampbell-01
SKETCH 2
10a-sketch-bradcampbell-03
SKETCH 3

CRITIQUE PROCESS

I met with my daughter Erin Campbell via Skype last night. She is a Speech Pathology major at Utah State University. We discussed the color scheme and arrangement of the images. She suggested that I add more text to each text box. Also she suggested using a shade lighter background color so the page wouldn’t be so dark. She liked my font choices and liked the alignment of the page.

I also received a Facebook critique from Chearsten Webb yesterday and Skyler Foxx today. Chearsten suggested to check the centering of the C, in the logo. Ā She also suggested removing the drop shadow off of the copyright in the footer. She suggested spacing out the navigation links a bit and to possibly add some social media links to the page. Skyler suggested the same, remove the drop shadow off of the copyright in the footer. He liked everything else about the web page mockup.

MESSAGE

Introduce Brad & Shannon Campbell’s family on the web to their friends and family by offering pictures, contact information, vacation trips, and the latest news and information on each of the children.

AUDIENCE

Brad and Shannon Campbell’s friends and family that want to learn more about each member of the family.

TOP THING LEARNED

How to use a 960 Column Grid System to layout a web page.

COLOR SCHEME & COLOR NAMES

Complementary // Dark Red, Magenta and Olive Green.

TITLE FONT NAME & CATEGORY

Antigone // Sans Serif- Grotesque

COPY FONT NAME & CATEGORY

Palatino // Serif – Old Style

THUMBNAILS OF ANY ORIGINAL, UNEDITED IMAGE(S) USED IN THE PROJECT

SOURCE OF EACH IMAGE (website name and hyperlink)

Logo is my own. All other images belong to my family.

 

Author: bradleycampbellblog

Me: I am 46 years old and have been married to my beautiful wife Shannon Campbell for the past 25 years. We have 5 children that range in age from 21 to 14. It has been the best 25 years of my life. I work in the legal technology field providing presentation and media content for trial attorneys litigating cases in civil litigation. The most important part of my life is spending time with my wife and children. My hobbies include golfing, hunting and barbecuing. I firmly believe that family is the center of any successful society and should be most important focus of any community that wants to be a leader for the world.

3 thoughts on “Web Page Mockup Project”

  1. I really enjoyed looking at your project. I liked how you did a website mock up about your family. It is neat to see your family pictures and learn more about your family. You have such a beautiful family. I like the maroon and green colors. They work well with the pictures. I like the repetition of the colored boxes. Your alignment is so good. Great job on your design.

    Like

Leave a comment

Jeremy Taylor's Blog

Showcasing course projects at BYU-I!

Andersen Web Design

One stop for all your web design and development needs